Written by on November 2, 2022

WMSC 90.3 FM earned three national awards from College Broadcasters, Inc. (CBI) on October 29, including first place honors for Best Special Broadcast Audio (“WMSC Global Broadcast for World College Radio Day”) and Best Station Promo Audio (“Tunes on Tuesday Showmo 2022”).

Music Director Jared Tauber was the lead on both first place awards, stating that he appreciates the freedom to explore, discover and create what WMSC provides for students.

“My choice to promote a show via rapping could have been swiftly dismissed on the basis of its irregularity, let alone a radio musical in which World College Radio Day is saved from certain doom by hyper-intelligent penguins and Daft Punk,” said Tauber. “I am grateful to CBI and to everyone who recognizes the value in creativity and in the bizarre. WMSC is a perfect example of letting students find their voice and passion.”

The station also won a second place award for Best Social Media Presence.

“I love that a group of us got to share such a historic moment for WMSC, in-person and in front of peers from all over the country,” said station manager Ben Petruk. “While awards were not top of mind when we recorded the special broadcast, it is wonderful that it resonated with everyone who listened to it.” Petruk is also this year’s student representative at CBI, and he was involved with the planning and execution of the first in-person conference in three years.

Seven WMSC students attended CBI’s NSEMC in Baltimore, Maryland. After three days of sessions on relevant media topics, the conference wrapped with the National Student Electronic Media 2022 awards, where CBI president John Morris passed the “CBI president gavel” to WMSC’s General Manager Anabella Poland, who begins her three-year term as the new president of CBI in 2023.

“I am honored to have been elected as the new president of CBI, a member-driven organization that serves students and advisers in student media,” said Poland. “ I look forward to working with students and peers and continue to advocate for student media as I continue to lead my students at Montclair State University.”