Nina Cried Power EP by Hozier

Written by on November 11, 2018

Reviewed by Aneta Ostasz

On September 6, 2018, Hozier released a new EP titled Nina Cried Power; this is his first release in about four years. The EP consists of four songs: “Nina Cried Power (feat. Mavis Staples)”, “NFWMB”, “Moment’s Silence (Common Tongue)”, and “Shrike.” The EP has a mix of blues and gospel as well as his classic indie-rock style; it works really well together. The most popular on the album is “Nina Cried Power” especially because the song is dedicated to protesters. “Nina Cried Power” and “Moment’s Silence” are more upbeat, and “NFWMB and Shrike” are mellower as well as love songs.

I rate the EP a 4.8 out of 5 stars; it’s near perfection in my eyes. The lyrics are beautiful and well written, and the different uses of sound blends with the lyrics so well. With Mavis Staples in Nina Cried Power, it made it more meaningful, and you feel inspired. My personal favorite out of the four songs is “Moment’s Silence” because it’s more upbeat than the other three, and I personally really like upbeat songs. I had the privilege of hearing these songs live at his concert at Beacon Theatre, and each song sounded better live. It just goes to show that Hozier truly does have talent and skill, and this album proves that.  It’s worth listening to, and it’s worth looking into the lyrics behind the songs.

Rating: 4.8/5 stars

Highlights: “Moment’s Silence”