Here’s What You Need To Know About Copa América 2024

Written by on June 19, 2024

Written by Gurleen Kaur

Published on June 19, 2024

Copa América is a tournament that involves soccer (or futbol) teams from North and South America, and the Caribbean. Copa América is known as the world’s oldest international sport. It was founded in 1916 when Argentina was celebrating their 100th year of independence. The tournament is held every four years, similar to the timeline of the World Cup. The teams compete in round-robin style, which means every team competing against every other team apart from the tournament, in which a team is eliminated by a certain amount of losses or wins they take on, like a process of elimination.

 For a team to qualify they must qualify through the CONCACAF Nations League which occurs in the previous summer. The CONCACAF is held every two years for the men’s national futbol where teams go up against one another to be champions. The winner of 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup was the Mexican National futbol team. 

The last Copa América tournament took place in 2021 in which Argentina took home the victory. Argentina and Uruguay have each won 15 Copa América tournaments, placing them at a tie for first place. Keep a close eye on these two teams as potential favorites, but don’t be shocked if we see some others make a run. 

This year 16 teams will be competing in the tournament which includes: Argentina, Canada, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Jamaica, Mexico, Venezuela, Uruguay, Bolivia, Panama, United States, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica and Paraguay. The first match will kick off on Thursday, June 20 2024 with Argentina versus Canada at 8:00 p.m.

There will be three group stage matches from June 20 to July 2, 2024. Quarter-finals will begin approximately on July 4 and end July 6, 2024. The Semi-finals will be on July 9 and 10, and July 13 is the third place match. The 2024 Copa América Final will be held on Sunday, July 14 at Hard Rock stadium in Miami, Florida. Three of these matches will take place in New Jersey at MetLife Stadium. Those matches are: Chile vs Argentina on June 25, 2024 at 9:00 p.m., Uruguay vs Bolivia on June 27, 2024 at 9:00 pm and the semifinal at 8:00 pm. This gives you an opportunity to see the match live and players in-person including Lionel Messi.

These are the following players you should be looking out for in the tournament. Lionel Messi (Argentina), Miguel Terceros (Bolivia), Vinicius Junior (Brazil), Alphonso Davies (Canada), Dario Osorio (Chile), Luis Diaz (Columbia), Manfred Ugalde (Costa Rica), Moises Caicedo (Ecuador), Michail Antonio (Jamaica), Santiago Gimenez (Mexico), Adalberto Carrasquilla (Panama), Miguel Almiron (Paraguay), Edison Flores (Peru), Christian Pulisic (USA), Darwin Nunez (Uruguay) & last but not least Salomon Rondon (Venezuela). These players either already have made history or are going to be in their own individual teams during this tournament and throughout their fútbol career.

Everyone will either be rooting for their national team, their favorite player, who they believe will win or whoever wins in the end! It is truly a time where people will be coming together and be on the edge of their seats watching all the matches up until the finals in July to see who wins this year.

Let’s see who takes home the victory this year!


Featured image from Shutterstock